One of the quotes on the back of this book is by Gregory MacGuire “like a lost tale of Grimm newly come to light….bewitching”. It’s true, it is a new fairytale. Something you’ve been looking for for a long time, and then one of those books that just hits all the comforting, warming spots that you really sometimes just need in your life.

UprootedIn a nutshell, the story is set in a valley with an enchanted forest (see what I mean about the fairytale?!). Every 10 years the Wizard comes down from his tower and chooses a young woman to take back to the castle and serve him. Everyone expects the pretty, graceful woman to be taken, but of course, it’s not, it’s her friend. I don’t apologise for the spoiler here as it’s so obvious who will be taken even from the synopsis on the back cover…

I took this book on holiday with me and it was an absolutely perfect read. Some of the plot you can see coming from a mile off, but that’s not always a bad thing. It’s really nicely written, and is a great new fairytale.  Often I send books straight to charity after I’ve read them, but this one is staying on my bookshelf, whenever I’m feeling a bit low it’s where i’m going to head to pick me up again. I also love the cover, it sets out exactly what you imagine…

Wonderful…..

Picture from Amazon.co.uk

 

