The Medusa ChroniclesI’ve always been a fan of sci-fi, and I’ve read a number of Stephen Baxter and Alaistair Reynolds books over the years. When I spotted this one on Netgalley I really had to request it, and I’m so pleased I did.

This story was inspired by a short story written by Arthur C Clark (incidentally, the author who made me fall in love with sci-fi, though I’ve never read this short story…yet).

The plot centres around Commander Howard Falcon, a man who should have lost his life in an accident, but with groundbreaking technology was transformed into half man half machine. Despised, and thought of as an abomination by some, but also admired and thought of as a hero by others. In a story taking place over centuries, Commander Falcon is entrusted to prevent wars, and as a general peacekeeperbetween man and machine.

This truly is an epic novel, and one I struggled to put down. As you’d expect, it’s very well written and you are draw into the situations that Commander Falcon is put into. It’s easy to empathise with the choices he makes and the relationships he forges, and I certainly did feel like I got to know the characters very well.

A great blockbuster!

Thanks to Orion Publishing Group and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this book.

