This is a pretty short book, at about 170 pages, so it’s a good size to get through in a couple of days (for me anyway).

The book tells the story of a young man called Keigan who works in a library and is sent to pick up some donated books. One of the books was set aside from the others, along with an old toy train, and intrigued, instead of handing it into the library for categorisation, he keeps hold of it.

The story that follows is a magical, time travelling, love story, with a truly sad ending.

I did enjoy the book, but I felt that it could have been taken a little further. Questions were left unanswered, for example, without giving spoilers, Keigan left a task to his loved one – did she complete it? We just don’t know. Maybe the author left us wondering intentionally – I don’t know. I just felt a bit left wanting.

As I said, it’s a good easy read if you don’t want something too heavy, and it is well written. I certainly didn’t get bored reading it, and I looked forward to picking it up in my lunch hour.

My thanks to Booktrope Publishers, and Netgalley for this copy

