It’s been a while since I last posted! I have been reading – or more studying for my holiday this year. I chose China….this book came up on NetGalley just as all my other books arrived and I ‘thought’ that I would squeeze it in amongst the others.

I thought wrong….

As soon as I got back I picked it up, and I’m really pleased that I did. Because I’d learnt so much about Chinese culture, and then visited it and experienced it myself I was able to appreciate this book more than I would maybe have done.

This book doesn’t hang around with plot so i’ll keep it short as I don’t want to give away spoilers. China, in it’s obsession to become a bigger superpower than America is opening a Zoo. Not any old zoo of course, but the biggest zoo on earth, with a pretty spectacular animal.

As you’d expect with a good thriller – and this certainly is a good thriller – things don’t quite go as smoothly as the Chinese Government would like them to, and the main characters CJ Cameron, her brother Hamish, and the rest of the characters are swept along in a rollercoaster of events which never seem to end!

It’s pretty gory, and comparisons with a certain film are inevitable, but you do have to look past that and appreciate the book for what it is – which is a good thriller. The author has quite clearly done his research on China and it’s culture, and has portrayed it very well. I don’t know if this book would work so well in another country as it fits China very well.

My thanks to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for the advance copy.

