Tags

I started reading this on Halloween, and just before I had a blood test (which always makes me queazy anyway!)….maybe not the best idea!

It’s been a while since I read a horror, and this one really is. In short, the story follows Stephanie, a young woman who moves out of home (after an relationship breakdown with her stepmother), and moves into a cheap rented room in a Victorian house. Her first night doesn’t go well, with her being woken by noises and voices, which she puts down to her neighbours. However, when she tries to leave, things get worse – much worse.

This book frightened the life out of me, it really did. I had to put it down quite a few times and go and do something else for a bit, and there were bits that I just struggled to read. This book really got to me, it’s not a classic ghost story. This is truly awful – the landlords frightened me more than the ghosts somewhat, they’re not unbelievable characters, and you can actually see how some women would easily get themselves into the situation that Stephanie did.

It did have undertones of Fred and Rose West, which I noted were mentioned by the author at the end of the book. I think this is why it creeped me out so much.

I enjoyed this book very much, but I think it’s going to stay with me for a while…. A truly frightening story.

 

Thank you to Pan Books for providing this copy via NetGalley

