Tags

The Ocean at the end of the laneWow. This is the first book that I have read of this author, although I have been meaning to buy one for quite some time, as I loved the film Stardust, and I knew he would be right up my street so to speak.

It didn’t disappoint. This is one of those books that you read as a child and it stays with you for the rest of your life. For example, for me, it’s Joan Aiken (The Stolen Lake being my favourite), and Alan Garner (The Weirdstone of Brisingamen – oh Alderley Edge!). I’ve never encountered a book like this in my adult life  life – it transported me back to my childhood and it was just absolutely magical.

I’m never going to forget this book, and I can see myself rereading it over and over again. It’s pretty short so you can do it in a weekend easily. Perfect.

I’m planning on buying the rest of his books, I hope they are all as special as this one – I’m confident they will be…

