Tags

The Reality Dysfunction (Night's Dawn, #1)

This is one HUGE book! I initially picked it up a couple of years ago but I only made it through the first 50 pages,  then the rabbit got hold of it and chewed most of the front cover off, so it sat on the bookshelf until I decided I should really give it a proper go.

As I’ve said, it’s a HUGE book, 1200 odd pages, so it’s a bit of a commitment, and it is a complicated plot, so  you really do have to invest a bit of time each time you pick it up (I didn’t last time, and I got lost on what was happening). I’m really pleased I picked it up again though. He’s billed as Britain’s no 1 science fiction writer, and I really can’t disagree with that statement. It truly is a fantastic story, and very well written. If I have one complaint, it’s that the sex scenes are skimmed over (and there are a lot of sex scenes) – it’s all left to the imagination – maybe not a bad thing, but we are living now in the world of ‘fifty’ – I expect a bit more (then again, maybe it’s just me!!!).

This is the first book in the trilogy, and the other two are just as hefty. I’m not going to read all three in one go, I sometimes get a bit fatigued with trilogy’s, and can’t wait to just be shot of them by the end, and I think I’ll probably feel that way with this one, especially due to the size of the books.

So, the book – basically – because it is complicated, and I don’t like to dwell on tellling the plotline…we meet to Joshua Calvert, the main character, a lucky captain of a trading ship – the plot is mostly centred around this character, and the recently colonised planet of Lalonde. Lalonde was all going well, with villages becoming self-sufficient, growing their own crops, etc, etc, and is a destination planet for those in the galaxy who  wish to leave the technologies of space and go back to their roots.

Something catastrophic happens on Lalonde, and Joshua is caught up in it, along with many other characters…..I won’t reveal more.

I am very much looking forward to picking up the next two of these books, I’m holding myself back from picking up the second right now, as I’ve said, I don’t want to get fed up of them, so i’m going for a light read inbetween! A truly great start to what must be the reason  the term  ‘Space Opera’ was invented!

Picture taken from Goodreads.

 

 

 

