I’m very concious that i’ve not posted in a while….i’ve been on holiday, work is manic, and watching the world cup has meant i’ve not been reading as I usually do…I admit I hate football, but I’ve been really enjoying the world cup…though not as much now we’re no longer in it…..oh…and have you noticed? It’s sunny!! I’ve been gardening….

Anyway – on holiday i read Stephen King’s ‘Under the Dome’. It’s been a while since I’ve read an SK – i went through a phase in my teen/early twenties years where I read loads of his books, and really fancied picking up a new one. I’ve often found his endings are often bad, and I just accept this now – it doesn’t bother me. He’s a best seller for a reason, and I found I still really enjoy his books, despite knowing the ending may be ‘silly’. Definitely one to pick up and read.

I also read ‘Flood’ by Stephen Baxter. This is the first book I ever bought for my e-reader years ago, and I’ve kept it as ‘special’.  Set myself up for a fall there didn’t I? I have to say, I didn’t like it – people fleeing everywhere for no reason it appeared, One minute they were in one country, and one minute in another – I couldn’t keep up, and the background of them all being hostages together just didn’t work for me – it seemed irrelevant. It’s not often I don’t like a book, but I just didn’t like this at all. I’m rather gutted about it..

What else…

I finally finished ‘A history of  the world in 100 objects’, by Neil MacGregor, which I’ve been reading on and off for about 3 years. I just kept forgetting I had it to be honest. I kept it in a drawer in the coffee table which I rarely went into. The book is what it says it is. It’s a good read, short chapters, easy reading, and I learnt quite a bit. I just wish I’d read it over a shorter period of time as I lost a bit where he referred to previous chapters in that i’d forgotten how it linked. My own fault, not the books. I recommend it – it’s always good to improve your mind!

The two I’m ploughing  through at the moment are ‘The Reality Dysfunction’ by Peter F Hamilton. LOVING THIS so far. Paper book which i’ve had for years and which is rabbit chewed. It’s a big heavy book, and I admit my wrists are weak from switching to an e-reader – hence why i’ve had it so long. God books are soooo heavy!!! I want rid of it from my bookshelf as I have double layers of books, and the shelves are bending – so i’m reading it and charity shopping it as quick as I can.

The second one I’m reading is ‘Winds of Purgatory’ Rex A Ewing, from those lovely people at Netgalley. I’ve had this on my reader for so long it’s embarrassing. I’m only on 4%…I will get there.

Despite my first paragraph it would appear I have been reading a lot. But ‘tidying up’ reading…’getting rid of clutter’ reading. Not ‘new’ reading. Ahh……bear with me……I’ll be back to normal soon….

