Tags

Wild Fell

The author sets the scene for us of a tragedy that happened in the small town of Alvina in Ontario back in the sixties, introducing Blackmore Island and the rumour of the haunted house, Wild Fell. He then brings us into the present, introducing the main character Jameson (Jamie) Browning, an instantly likeable character who I felt empathy with from the very start.

I’m not going to tell you the plot, other than as is probably obvious, Jamie grows up and finds his way to Blackmore Island, and Wild Fell – truly discovering whether it is haunted or not….

This is a fantastic ghost story, and one which made me cry with sadness for Jamie, and also truly creeped me out.

It’s a reasonably short book, one which you can get through in a week and a bit without having to sit down and have a long spell with (ie, lunch hours, and an hour or so in the evening).

I really enjoyed this book, the characters were well developed and likeable, it’s very well written, and I didn’t want to put it down if i’m honest. If it was made into  film I wouldn’t be able to take it – it’s too creepy!!!

