Tags

, , ,

The Martian

Enter the world of Mark Watney – botanist, engineer and the lowest ranked member of the Ares 3 mission to Mars, who, due to an unforeseeable event has been left on Mars, presumed dead by his crew, alone, with the next mission not due to land for another 4 years.

Back on Earth, NASA, watching through the site through satellite imagery, have realised that he is still alive, and are hastily making plans to get him home safe and well.

Forced to think on his feet as to how to survive, Mark updates his log on a daily basis with his progress, while NASA are scrambling around trying to rescue him before he starves.

I found myself gripped from start to finish with this book, I really felt empathy with Mark and NASA. I just couldn’t put it down, it really is a truly outstanding read, one of the best books I’ve read in long time.

 

