Tags

, ,

The secret of abdu El YezdiI’m astonished that I haven’t come across this author or the series before, as this type of book is the sort of thing I love. It’s set in Victorian times (an era that I love), but not the Victorian times that we know, with technology more suited to our age, but ‘Victorianised’ if you understand what I mean! The main character reminds me of Professor Layton of the Nintendo DS games, who has turned up in a Doctor Who episode….it’s along those kind of lines.

The characters are real people from history, but again, twisted into different characters, and nods are given to Bram Stoker’s Dracula and Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein as well. I was worried that  this was going to turn into a rip off of some classic books but it twists and turns so many times just to make it very cleverly written.

I’m not going to give you a synopsis of the book, as the back cover can do that, all I’ll say is that this is a cracking read and I’m only disappointed that I haven’t read all of them.

oh – by the way – if you find yourself reading this one before the others – I promise you, you don’t lose anything by it – this story stands by itself. I will be catching up on the previous ones though.

